About EFDI

The European Forum of Deposit Insurers (EFDI) was first established in 2002 supported by the European Commission. There were 25 Founding Members, who jointly decided to establish a common platform for the mutual exchange of information.

In June 2007, EFDI adopted the legal status of an International Non-profit Association under Belgian law (INPA - AISBL). Its registered office is in Brussels (B-1000 Brussels, 56 Avenue des Arts, Belgium).

EFDI’s membership currently stands at 66 Member Institutions, i.e. 56 Deposit Guarantee Schemes) and 10 Investor Compensation Schemes from 44 countries from the Member States of the Council of Europe (Art. 6 EFDI Statutes).

EFDI has a close working relationship with major European and International organizations and academia, especially with the European Commission (EC), the European Central Bank (ECB), the European Banking Authority (EBA), the World Bank (WB), the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the European Financial Services Roundtable (EFSR), the European Banking Federation (EBF) and the International Association of Deposit Insurers (IADI).